Choosing a location & practise piece

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After discussing with my tutor, I decided to use the outside staircase between House 1 and 2 as the location of my Degree show piece. With two buildings so close together, the space is quite dull and dark. I decided I would challenge myself to make this a bright, colourful outdoor space to exhibit my piece. At first, I had to decided where on the stairs it was I wanted to yarn-bomb. I had the choice of simply crocheting around each pole of the bannister or covering the entire thing. As I said I want to challenge myself so I decided a complete coverage of crochet over the staircase would benefit this space the most and add a mass about of colour and vibrance in to the space. I took measurements so I have a rough idea of how many squares I would need to crochet. I also decided to have a variety of colours, patterns and sizes.

Leave a Reply

