Unit 6: Artist Statement

My artwork is an action I take to develop my understanding of unification in regards to the abuse of human rights. I enjoy learning the values of activism and producing art as observations in response to the big name problems going on in our world today. I feel strongly about raising awareness through art and most recently craft, due to a type of activism recently named craftivism. Craftivism uses domestic arts and craft as a popular way to demonstrate issues regarding feminism, capitalism and environmentalism. Traditionally using ‘DIY’ materials and processes such as knitting and crochet, I have combined craft with aggressive hand gestures made from body casting, as I experiment more with the human form in 3D.

Leave a Reply

