Mirrorcity at the Hayward Gallery

Mirrorcity was an incredibly inspiring exhibition to visit whilst making work for my project regarding psychedelia. The exhibition was created as somewhere that is real, that exists in the world yet hold the most fictional and almost mythical pieces. All the work used up the space very thoughtfully, as pieces were leading you on from one to the other very smoothly and the installations were incredibly unique. Lynette Yiadom-Boakye’s portraits of black men really stood out to me, after reading her statement I felt that I could really connect to her work and understand her intentions and where she was coming from.

Another piece that really stood out were photo manipulations created by John Stezaker. I really enjoy creating illusions using physical photographs and cutting them up, but never had I seen such skill until I came across Stezaker’s work. Some pieces often had me looking twice, his work was so easy to fool.

What really caught my eye in Mirrorcity however, is the installation created by Tai Shani. I had never come across a piece like this before. It was so weird, it was so interesting. I sat there for half an hour, listening to the stories her characters were telling me. It was so hypnotizing, not just the films and sounds but the installation and world she had created inside. Similarly, I also enjoyed Laure Prouvost’s installation which felt like you were in someone’s home despite her dramatic narrating which was really interesting to listen to.

John Stezaker

John Stezaker

MIRRORCITY

MIRRORCITY

Tai Shani

Tai Shani

Leave a Reply

